Taking a gap semester 2nd semester of Jr yr? Hoping UCLA/USC/Penn and etc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SobeLifes

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am currently a sophomore MCB major at a top 20 ranked undergrad.
I have 3.6 GPA currently and I can pull 3.7 by the time I apply.
I really wish to take a gap semester during the second semester of Junior year
for my personal improvements (hobbies, getting better in shape, travel, explore dental field where I am originally from, spend time with my parents, take DAT).
I have been taking summer classes (and plan to take classes for this summer) and I have been working during winter, doing internship at a dental office (had never really time off:/)
I just want to take some time off and do what I have mentioned above while taking "a gap semester"
My close friend of mine keep warning me that taking a gap semester is looked bad on dental application;
I do not care too much of what (adcome) think about me UNLESS of course, if taking a gap semester for the second semester of Junior year is that detrimental to the eye of dental adcom.

Taking a gap semester for second semester of Junior year has few benefits.
2nd semester Junior: gap semester
Junior Summer: classes
Senior year: classes/ work at a lab
Senior Summer: apply dental school (asap)
Super senior "a" semester: classes /interviews
Second semester of super senior: a gap semester (take time off/ continue to work at a lab)

Instead of taking a full gap year after graduating, I can only take a semester off (which I believe is enough/ appropriate time to take a break rather than a whole year).

My friend also warns me that taking classes and going to interviews are impossible (although I think it is doable unless I apply too many schools). Oh I (wish!) to attend top dental school like UCLA, Penn, USC (and of course any other dental school I would be happy<3)