Taking a year off before grad school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

twelvesixteen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This new thread is probably beating a dead horse, but I feel like I need to explain my personal situation. I am a 19 year old student and I am going into my fourth year of my undergrad working towards my BSc in psych and will be graduating in April 2012. Originally my plan was to work towards med school (and be admitted in September 2012) but there were a couple minor setbacks in second year when I switched from majoring in biology to majoring in psychology. Eventually, working hard, I finished all my prereqs and now just have to write my MCAT. The problem is, my brain is absolutely exhausted from these past... 19 years. All I've done is blow through school, but since I basically chained myself to my room to study, I haven't socialized very much (at all), I don't feel like I have "real life experiences" and am very behind in a lot of other aspects of my life other than academics.

My original plan for this summer was to study for the MCAT, write at the end of August and get everything together to submit applications in October. The problem is, I don't know if it's what I actually want. Also, this past winter semester was a living hell for me. There were a lot of family matters going on, and I lost one of my closest friends. Getting up and just going to school was a huge effort for me some days. Right now, I'm just exhausted in all ways.

Practically of course, the money is appealing, but I know my heart is with counseling, particularly at the post-secondary level. Now, I'm really scared that if I go into med school and end up hating it I'll feel like I wasted a bunch of time, energy, and money. At the same time, it's not too late to write the GRE and get applications ready for grad school (MEd in higher ed counseling) for Jan/Feb applications for September 2012 admission.