Taking a year out of medical school - bad idea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychfan93

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm in my final year of medical school at a British university, and will be an IMG when I apply for residency in the US. I had a couple of questions about taking a year out during medical school.

I’m taking a year out for medical reasons, so have deferred my graduation by one year. I decided to interrupt my studies this month, and I’ll be doing a couple of research things during the 5 months I have off until final year starts in July 2018. I’m planning to take the USMLE in November 2018, 5 months after my final year starts.

My questions are:

1) Since I took the year out for medical reasons - is that enough justification for the residency application? Or will it hurt my chances? I show that I did 2 research projects and did a clerkship in the US during my 5 months out (+ medical reasons) – would these be good enough to show that I was still productive?

2) I am planning to take the USMLE in Nov 2018, 5 months after final year starts, and USMLE step 2 in April 2019 after my finals. Do you think this has a risk of making it look like I took the year out to study for the USMLE?

I am just worried that my decision to interrupt my studies for medical reasons will hurt my application! Any thoughts / advice will be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

1. Won't hurt you if you have a verifiable justification.
2. Doesn't matter, health comes first. People will understand.

Reactions: 1 user
1. Won't hurt you if you have a verifiable justification.
2. Doesn't matter, health comes first. People will understand.
Agree with above, especially #2