Taking chemistry one and two at community college while attending 4 year university?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I take chem 1 and 2 at community college?

• Total voters

whatsupdoc442

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
The title basically says the majority, and I know this has been asked to death but I really need some advice. So basically, I've created a 4 year plan that allows me to take my prereqs and a few other core classes before taking the MCAT (i'm a second semester freshman) and due to some poor feedback on when someone can take chemistry at my school, I have to take chemistry over the summer. The chemistry courses at my school are very expensive and the school is too far for me to drive over the summer (i live on campus). My question is: am I shooting myself in the foot if I take chemistry one and two at a community college over the summer? I would really hate for my journey to becoming a medical student to be stumped JUST because I had to take a prereq at community college. Is there still a chance for me in med schools nowadays? I plan to take every other prereq and course needed at my university.

(Also, my GPA so far is 4.0 right now, I haven't done any clinical stuff but i plan to volunteer this summer at my local hospital and shadow my doctor, and I'm in a good amount of clubs and activities)

Members don't see this ad.

Attachments

• MED SCHOOL JOURNEY.docx
    14.1 KB · Views: 56
Take them at a CC. If you do poor, then you're not in a good situation. I would suggest you take it at your university. It's up to you.

Last edited:
Take them at a CC. If you do poor, then you're not in a good situation. I would suggest you take it your university. It's up to you.