Taking MCAT for the 3rd time - any advice much appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gunner10

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've written the MCAT twice so far - scored 9/9/11Q (29Q) in 2008 and 9/11/12S (32S) in 2009 but am rewriting because any gain I make in my MCAT will help me out to compensate for a **** GPA. I'm a Canadian resident and trying to get into a Canadian med school. I plan to write May 1st so I have just under 3 months to prepare and would really appreciate it if anybody could provide any advice as to how to boost my score/what methods they believe would be useful in this type of situation :)

Members don't see this ad.

I should add in that I'm working full-time so that'll cut down the amount of time I have to study significantly...

32S is a decent score (especially with 9+ in every section). Are you retaking it because of some cutoffs for Canadian schools?

Is your 9 in PS? If so, then it is probably the easiest section to improve on. Get hold of TBR books for PS and keep practicing.

I do not have any advice on Canadian medical schools but the MSAR does include them along with score averages. I am sure the 32 is considered acceptable in the US system and thus would be similar in Canada - however, the third MCAT is a bad idea unless you are fairly confident that you will score at or above 32 again. Seeing how you have 3 months it could be possible but I don't know why a 32 isn't good enough - your GPA is just low and you may have a hard time getting in, but you should apply to schools in the US just for the chance that you will be accepted.

Third time MCAT takers such as myself (and I have to say I don't know if I have done better than my last, since I just took it) are at a disadvantage with time frame and lack of predicting their own success. The 32 is a 'good enough' score and I would be hesitant to suggest you do it again unless you can get a 34.