Jan 17, 2010
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
Hey all,

I'm planning on taking the pre-reqs I have remaining (39 credits) over the next 3 years, as I am going to be working full-time while I go back to school initially until I get into pharmacy school.

I found a local community college that has a pre-pharmacy curriculum posted for the school I'd like to attend, so I'm thinking I would take 16 credits for 2010-2011, 16 credits 2011-2012, and the remaining 7 credits 2012-2013 so I have time to study for the PCAT and work at a local retail pharmacy (although I worked as a CPhT from 2004-2006, I'd like the recent experience on my application).

Does this sound like an OK plan or will pharmacy schools frown upon taking this long to finish up pre-reqs? If it makes a difference, I already have a B.S. (3.38 GPA) and an MBA (3.9 GPA) so I can clearly handle upper-level coursework. The issue is me trying not to get overwhelmed with handling pre-reqs and my full-time job.

Thanks!

rxlea

Almost a unicorn
Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
Aug 9, 2009
Status
Pharmacist
Hey all,

I'm planning on taking the pre-reqs I have remaining (39 credits) over the next 3 years, as I am going to be working full-time while I go back to school initially until I get into pharmacy school.

I found a local community college that has a pre-pharmacy curriculum posted for the school I'd like to attend, so I'm thinking I would take 16 credits for 2010-2011, 16 credits 2011-2012, and the remaining 7 credits 2012-2013 so I have time to study for the PCAT and work at a local retail pharmacy (although I worked as a CPhT from 2004-2006, I'd like the recent experience on my application).

Does this sound like an OK plan or will pharmacy schools frown upon taking this long to finish up pre-reqs? If it makes a difference, I already have a B.S. (3.38 GPA) and an MBA (3.9 GPA) so I can clearly handle upper-level coursework. The issue is me trying not to get overwhelmed with handling pre-reqs and my full-time job.