This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mindfxck

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a psych/pre-med sophomore undergrad. I am aware that body modification is not something medical professionals recommend, however it is too late to not be concerned.
I have stretched my ears to no larger than a 0g, have two small tattoos and two large--only one is visible on my left wrist (it's a cross, if that matters at all) and the other three are very easy to conceal--and have my left eyebrow pierced. Along with these, I also have bleached and dyed my hair gray. I dye my hair unnatural colors quite often, but I am not planning on keeping up with this 'hobby' as it is seen as unprofessional by many. I am planning on getting more tattoos in places that are always covered up in public, and thinking about more facial piercings but will not keep them in when they are more of an inconvenience than anything else.
Self-expression through body modification and hair dye are pretty common in my area (Seattle/Tacoma), but I don't know if it would make a large difference or jeopardize my chances of being admitted to any medical school.

What is the policy for these kinds of things?