Teaching/ Non-clinical route post residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jadedEResident

Reaction score
I'm a second year ER resident and looking to move towards more of a non-clinical route in the future. I've done a bit of teaching prior to going to medical school and anted to know how to get into teaching post residency? I've seen people do toxicology fellowships and go on to be professors at med schools, etc. Love tox but the 2 year fellowship seems excessive. Any other ideas?

Members don't see this ad.

Don't do a fellowship unless you want to do a fellowship. The biggest thing you can do is show interest during residency. Are you currently in a 3 or 4 year residency? If you're in a 3 year residency then there's basically a zero percent chance a 4 year residency will higher you as staff since you'll technically be the same PG year as the 4th years. If you're at a 4 year residency then it's pretty much free game.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
It would be a very difficult thing trying to get a job teaching medicine without practicing clinical medicine. You might be qualified to teach physiology or anatomy or something at a community college level, or be a very overqualified HS teacher once certified, but other than that it seems tough. If you really want out of EM (and you should know that there's a lot of different ways to practice EM, and that life can change in a lot of ways if you want it to after training) you could do occupational medicine training, hyperbarics, wound care, palliative care, tox (and then go work for pharmaceutical companies or do legal work if you really don't like clinical medicine), addiction medicine or take your license and go to telemed or open a med spa or something like that. Lots of ways to do it, but you're probably not going to be teaching MS1/2s without a clinical appointment.