tell me why u choose your school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2001Hopeful

I'm applying to Western, Tuoro, NECOM, and Lake Erie. Can anyone tell me about your visit, interviews, and why you choose to go there besides the reason being Location.
thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hopeful,
I am currently a second year LECOM student, so I can offer you some insight on that one at least. What LECOM has to offer is that it has a small-school, (relatively) cooperative atmosphere where you know your core professors and get to work in some small group settings. There is a reasonable variety of rotations available, with travel involved, but don't expect to get more than a few rotations in Pittsburgh. You can get a decent education here.
Some things I wish I had considered more, though: first is the board pass rate. You won't find ours anywhere; the administration won't publish it. We (the students) estimate that it is somewhere in the area of 85%; however I can't vouch for the accuracy of that. Your board scores are the single most important thing you take away from your medical school, the only thing that counts in the long run.