Tennessee Resident 510 MCAT 3.81 GPA-What are my chances at MD program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jenes

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just looking for some advice an insight as I go through the application process. I am a Tennessee resident applying this cycle. Here are my stats:

3.81 cGPA
3.69 science/math GPA

*Never failed or repeated any classes, grades were always steadily good throughout college, only made 1 "C'

MCAT:

1st attempt- 23 (not prepared, taken August 2013)

2nd attempt- 510 (83%, taken September 12 2015)

Physical- 127
CARS- 128
Bio- 126
Psych/Soc- 129

Extracurriculars:

-
4 year member of Sigma Chi Fraternity, held leadership positions and offices
-Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society
-Mu Epsilon Delta medical fraternity member
- approx 75 shadowing hours in multiple specialties, including surgery
-over 100 volunteer hours, 30+ in a large ER and 72 in a level 1 trauma center with patient contact
-worked in a volunteer clinic in an impoverished region of Honduras for 7 days on a medical mission
- Executive board member of the UTM St. Jude Up 'til Dawn fundraising program
- Taught an orientation class and tutored incoming freshman students
- Significant undergraduate research experience, attended 2 national conferences and presented a poster
-Co-authored an Anatomy and Physiology lab manual currently used at my alma mater
- Full time research assistant in a lab studying triple-negative breast cancer (I've worked here since graduation) 2000+ hour total with experience in tons of molecular bio techniques and surgical procedures in mouse models. 1 publication currently under review, more on the way early next year.

So far I have applied to the following schools:

-University of Tennessee Health Science Center
-East TN State University
- Quinnipac
- Western Michigan
- Penn State
- Vermont
- VCU
- West Virginia
- Wake Forest
- Arizona @ Tuscon
-Emory
-Tulane