Terminal masters program that best prepare for PhD admission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Motiv4ted

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm currently an undergraduate student majoring in psychology. I have always wanted to work in the field of psychology and working with either depression or addiction. I realize that I can become a practitioner at the masters level with a counseling license, but because I'm an international student I would like to get a PhD so that if I do go back to my home country, it's easier to find a job.

However, I would not get into a PhD program with my current level of research experience although my grades are very good. Taking time off after I graduate to do more research doesn't seem like a good idea either because I only have 1 year after I graduate that I can stay here before I have to go back or continue my education ( I doubt I can find a RA position in that time, plus 1 more year of experience isn't enough right? with that 1 year, I would have a total of 2 years, but the one year that I'm getting right now as a research volunteer with my professor hasn't prepared me or taught me anything, just to look good on my resume)

Therefore, I'm looking at terminal masters program in clinical psychology or general psychology that would increase my chances of getting into a PhD program. I'm currently looking at three programs,

1/ M.S in general psychology at Depaul University in Chicago.
2/ M.S in general psychology at NYU
3/ M.A in psychology at the Teachers College in Columbia

I was wondering what everyone's opinions of these programs are, and if there are programs out there that can prepare me better for PhD admission. Also, any tips or guidance that you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.