Terrible GPA, high MCAT: how to spend my year before applying to SMPs?

Apr 1, 2010
Status
I am 25, US/EU citizen, female. I graduated May 2009 with a degree in biochemistry and cell biology from a top 20 research university. My GPA is about as bad as it gets, and I got low grades in my science courses, mostly because I didn't take school seriously enough – for example, I didn't show up to any of my organic chemistry lectures or exams the first time around, and skipped two out of four exams the second time, but got As on the last two exams and the final. I never turned in any homework in physics or chemistry, because I knew I'd still pass by earning As on the finals. I realize that this attitude won't get me into or through medical school, but that is not what my question is about.

I had completely given up on medical school due to my low GPA, but then I found out about GPA enhancement/special master's programs! So, here is my current situation – I would greatly appreciate any advice as I am pretty new to this.

Undergraduate history:
3.03 cGPA with bad science grades
Chem I C+, Chem II B+, Bio I B-, Bio II A-, Phys I B-, Phys II C+, Orgo I C+, Orgo II F/B-. I did better in my (many) lab and research courses, as well as Immunology, Genetics, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics, etc. I earned a C+ in Cell bio.
Two years of undergraduate research experience (I secured my own funding and was in the lab upward of 35 hours a week)

Currently:
Employed as a research associate in a hospital-affiliated research institute
Hospital volunteer (with direct patient contact) - just started
Tutor for youth at risk - about a year
As of next month, I will have completed a Certified Nursing Assistant program and will be looking for a clinical part-time job this summer. I will do my best to be placed in a hospital setting – I plan to call up HR at work and ask for internal opportunities.
MCAT full-length practice scores: 40 and 42.
GRE scores: 800Q/730V