test anxiety, and losing my motivation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ajswiss

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will preface this with saying that I have never ever experienced anything like this before in my life. This term in school I am taking a pre-calc/trig class and have recently began BOMBING the tests. I am studying my usual amount (about 3-4 hours a week, with an extra 5 or so hours thrown in a day or two before the test). This method has always worked for me in the past, and until the last two tests, has been working for this class. I understand the material through and through. I do the homework no problem. But then, the minute I sit down to take the test my mind goes blank, and it's as if I am looking at the material for the first time. I don't seem to have this problem in my physics class though.

Anyway, I guess this is what they call test anxiety? Does anyone else experience this? How do I handle it?? I am very worried that this is going to start happening in my other classes. I don't even know what is triggering it! I am now getting a low B in the class, which is going to have a bad effect on my GPA. If this happens on the next test, I'll get a C in the class. If this starts happening in other classes, I am going to be in trouble...

ALSO, this is leading to a real drop in motivation. I feel like, "whats the the point?" It is making me wonder if I will even be able to get into med school! I know this may seem a little overly dramatic, but it is causing alot of anxiety for me.

I would love some advice

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: