Jan 4, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
So here I am humming along in my post-bacc. Straight A's so far, will be taking the MCAT next winter.

I am a low-gpa undergrad with a very underwhelming gpa in the high 2's from a highly ranked school 10 years ago.

My plan at first was to do a post-bacc, then apply to med schools, then do a SMP if I didn't get in after the post-bacc.

But I am now realizing that this plan will take two-three years, and there are no guarantees.

With the Texas Fresh Start program I can bang out a bachelor's degree in 2-3 years at U.T. Austin, and then apply to Texas med schools. The upside of this is:

-I won't need a truly amazing MCAT score to make up for crummy grades I got 10 years ago when I was a foolish youth.

-I can spend the two years taking interesting humanities courses and major in something I like, such as history or political science (my previous bachelor's is in philosophy), rather than spending the next two years killing myself with upper division science classes in an extended post-bacc.

Why isn't Fresh Start more popular? Get a high 3 gpa and a decent MCAT and in-you-go to one of Texas' great med schools with low in-state tuition.

Where's the downside?

DrMidlife

has an opinion
10+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]
1. Establish TX residency
2. Apply for fresh start
3. Get rejected if you have done college coursework in the last 10 years (see recent thread in nontrad)
4. If you get accepted, you lose your entire college record and your degree and start over fresh. As a freshman.

Jan 4, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I did see the other thread, but as far as I can tell from the wording on U.T. Arlington's website, you are eligible for Fresh Start even if you've taken classes in the last 10 years. It's just that all courses prior to the 10 year cut-off date will not count toward your degree: