Dec 1, 2010
Status
Cross posting from the med student forum as it occured to me that I may get experienced input here:

So I'm not sure if this is a better post for the MD forums, but thought I'd see if anyone else has been in this situation.

ME:
Med student in Houston
A/B/C's my first 2 years of school
Now a third year with A's and B's this year and strong evaluations
Step I of only 209
A little extra curricular here and there

HER:
Just got accepted to A&M

So she'll be a first year when I'm a 4th year. A second year when I'm entering residency, etc.

I want to do internal medicine with a goal of primary care (not looking to subspecialize into cards or anything).

The reality that I don't get to choose where I go to residency is starting to set it. I've only been married to my wife for 3 years, but the thought of doing the next 4 years at distance (4th year and possibly 3 of residency) is killing me.

What are my options here?
I'm studying this year like I never have. I want the ability to train near her.
What can I do to maximize my chances of getting a residency near her??
Do programs take this kind of thing into account?
If I go rock a sub-I rotation at her school next year, just basically sit down with the attending and say "look, my wife is here. If I get to come here I'd work my ass off for you to make it worth your while"??? would that matter? I think my grades are going to hold me back and I'm trying my best to fix that.

Thanks for any input. I guess I should have gone to med school a few years later so we could just couples match....sigh.

Sorry for my slightly disjointed post. It was a stream of conscience at the moment...

normansatx

10+ Year Member
Mar 13, 2007
Seattle
Status
Resident [Any Field]