Quantcast

Texas MD, 2.99, 504,URM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor246853

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am using my friends account to post....don't judge tho:

I just submitted my TMDSAS today with a 2.99 gpa/sgpa :( (I know) 504 MCAT (received today). I have 10+ years of extensive clinical experience, published 5 papers, AA female mother, strong connections, strong PS, 100+ shadowing hours,100+ community service. Post back, 45 credits, 3.5 gpa but TMDSAS doesn't show a separate section for this :( Im worried about being autoscreened or waitlisted.

Should I put my bid in or withdraw app? Don't want to be a reapplicant next year. I have 30+ DO schools Im applying to but trying to stay in Texas. Thanks!!!!!!!!

trs88

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just asking, but why don't you make your own account?

Regarding Texas, super bad news, but you're going to get autoscreened with that gpa. I also think your mcat is too low as well.
What is your gpa for the DO schools? I think with the 504 mcat you should get some interviews.

Reactions: 1 user

bananafish94

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think you'll be okay. Bummer you couldn't get your GPA to 3.0 because there could conceivably be some kind of point/pre-screening thing with that, but such is life. According to the AAMC grid linked below for African Americans, people with your stats get in 49.4% of the time! Plus, Texas has a reputation for being a good state for applying, and you seem to have an upward trend and a compelling life story. Especially with DO schools, I am optimistic. Best of luck!

https://www.aamc.org/download/321514/data/factstablea24-2.pdf

Doctor246853

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just asking, but why don't you make your own account?

Regarding Texas, super bad news, but you're going to get autoscreened with that gpa. I also think your mcat is too low as well.