1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Texas resident, look for OOS suggestions

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by hx87, Jul 27, 2011.

1. hx87

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    This is my first time applying to medical school. As a Texas resident, I'm applying to all 9 in-state schools, but would like some suggestions for OOS schools (MD and DO).

Here are my stats:

• BS in Chemical Engineering from Caltech
    • cGPA: 3.4
    • sGPA: 3.5
    • MCAT: 40N (14/12/14)

Extracurriculars:

• President of a club for 3 years in undergrad
    • Spent a spring break clearing invasive species from Owens Lake
    • 120 hours of volunteering at EC in a Level I trauma center
    • 120 hours of physical shadowing (PCP, surgical oncology, infectious diseases)
    • Will begin volunteering at Houston Zoo at beginning of next month

Research:

• 1 summer in bioengineering/synthetic biology lab at Caltech. Presented research at MIT in 2007.
    • 1 year in transplant immunology lab at MD Anderson Cancer Center, studying possible breast cancer vaccine targets. 2 peer-reviewed publications, 2 more in the pipeline, 4 abstracts, 2 presentations (including annual meeting of American Society of Hematology).

BTW, how are my chances if I submitted my primaries right now?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. BuffNerd

BuffNerd ____________

Pre-Medical
    It's a little late for TMDSAS, but I would go for it if I were you (if you can get all your stuff together quickly...if you're needing to wait on PS/LOR's, etc...I wouldn't be as certain).