Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Thanks to all at SDN

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by rockaway, Oct 23, 2002.

1. rockaway

rockaway Member
    7+ Year Member

I will be starting med school this January at St. George's. This has been a dream of mine for a very, very long time. I was on two waiting lists last spring for two schools on the East Coast until the very end. I didn't get in, but decided not to give up. I realize that some who read this may look down upon anyone attending this school. I've been an emergency room nurse for quite a while....a long time ago while working in NYC, there was a particular intern one year who stood out from the rest. She was bright and knew her stuff like all of the others, but she was very down to earth, put patients and their families at ease, joked with the staff, was never rude or obnoxious to anyone, and worked very hard taking care of her patients, not to impress anyone...but because she actually cared about them....it turned out she had gone to school at St. George's....up until then I had never heard of the school...and I've yet to meet a med student, intern or resident with her enthusiasm and joy toward medicine. I was fortunate to have lunch with her a few months ago, she is in a thriving internal medicine practice in New York and loves her work.
    This has been a very long road for me with quite a few twists and turns. But!! here I go!!
    I want to thank all of you for the past few years of encouragement, kind words, and your honesty.....it helped me a great deal, more than you might know. To those of you who feel discouraged, DON'T give up, if you truly want to be a doctor, just keep going.
    Good luck to all in this most "interesting" journey!!!!