The Anesthesiology "Personality" and Other Basic Inquiries

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wundabread

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year medical student with a few questions about Anesthesiology. I have a good feeling about it, and I've signed up to do a rotation early in my 4th year, but I'd like some input on a few topics.

1. What would you say is the "stereotypical personality" in Anesthesiology? I know these are by no means set in stone, but I think that most specialties have a personality type that seems particularly at home in a given area; who is that for Anesthesiology?

2. I'm an "on the go" type of guy; I liked surgery because I was always rushing around, but I wasn't so big on standing around holding retractors. I know that Anesthesiologists often have a substantial percentage of not-so-intense time to fill in the OR (along with a small but tasty portion of mayhem) but not having to stand around pretending you are interested in what the surgeon is doing and being able to put at least some of your attention on other things for a while should be much better for me. That said, how about the pace outside of the OR?

3. Finally, for those of you who have already matched, what would you consider to be the pros and cons? Particularly, do you worry about bordem, and do you get satisfaction out of the work you do? I hope that doesn't come across as crass, but these are some of the things I worry about.

I know these questions are quite basic, however Anesthesiology is not part of our core 3rd year rotations. The only time we are offered exposure is in the 4th year, and I just want to make sure I'm not totally off base in my assumptions.

Thanks in Advance,
Andy

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an "on the go" type of guy; I liked surgery because I was always rushing around