The business of medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrMattOglesby

Grand Master
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been researching the state of healthcare for a while now and noticed that many physicians seem quite adept at the art of medicine but suffer when it comes down to "taking care business."
As incoming students and recent graduates, what have you all done to prepare yourselves for this aspect of medicine?

Members don't see this ad.

I have a degree in Information Science Technology. My program focused on management, project design, leadership, and general entrepreneurship. That is my major training. I think many doctors are poor at that side of the equation because they have been pinned down in the sciences. The science curriculum is not very good at crafting leadership roles in the business world. It is great at crafting researchers and people who can get lost in that. I rarely hear "leadership" or business words used in science.

Honestly, the key is to find someone that is an "A" at doing their job. The current state of medicine, it is just much too hard to have your finger in all the pies. You have to learn solid management techniques and find the best people for the job. Let them do what they are best at doing. State your goals for the practice and stay active in them, but don't micromanage. Odds are, the financial guy/gal you hire will be much better for that part...unless they are dirty thieves.

I married a man with an MBA. Problem solved. ;)

Members don't see this ad :)
I married a man with an MBA. Problem solved. ;)

I just went and worked as a medical office manager for a number of years. Now, I know the value of having a good office manager! Oh yeah, I also ran an IT business with my husband (still doing that a little) so I'd have to say that I'll be more involved in the business end than most doctors are likely to be!