The career of dentistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jamesTT

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and really interested in learning a great deal from it. I am currently in my second year and planning on writing the DAT soon. I was first considering medicine when I first started University but I have decided to pursue dentistry.

Some of the reason's I chose dentistry was the autonomy, the fact that I like working with my hands, and genuiely would like to feel that i am doing important work. The only questions I have is Dentistry a secure proffession for the long run ( iam pretty sure it is), and does it get monontous or does it still feel challeging after many years? Thanks :D

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not in the profession yet, but I'm guessing that your answers will be:
yes, yes, and yes.

I am only a sophomore dental student so I can't really speak from any experience but it seems to me that most any job is going to get a little monotonous after a while. Even the most glamorous jobs I'm sure don't seem quite so exciting after you've done it long enough. Veteran NFL players probably think, "dang it, another football game?!!!" But the scope of dentistry is broad enough that you will never be able to master it all; even the most experienced doctors will tell you that there is always something new to learn. As a private practitioner you have the ability to add new procedures to your repertoire at any time and to simply stop (or at least limit) those procedures that you no longer enjoy.

As for long-term security, there is no doubt in my mind that people in the future will continue to be born with teeth. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
I was wondering what is the retirement age for dentist - if there is one? :confused: