The content of my secondaries as a reapplicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sublimeade

Reaction score
Hello all! I am new to using SDN so I apologize if this has been asked before, but I couldn't find a general consensus on this.

Can I reuse content from my last secondaries for this application? I have been going through them and editing/updating them as relevant. I am asking not out of laziness, but rather because I have very well-developed essays that are still relevant. Until April 2023, I worked in an ER and my entire application centers around a love for emergency medicine and personal experiences with the death of a family member. I have very insightful essays that are based on specific situations I went through in the ER. I just started a job in nephrology clinical research but only have about 250 hours so far, and don't feel that I've had enough experiences to necessarily write stronger essays with more "relevant" information. Even if I edit and change some things here and there, can I generally keep the same essays? Would medical schools compare my previous years' responses and deem the essays too similar? Would love any advice and thank you!!

Also: I've reached out to schools that I have interviewed with in the past (waitlisted) and they would not give me feedback about whether these essays are why I haven't gotten an acceptance. From family/friends/doctors reading my essays and giving me overwhelmingly positive feedback, I don't think this is the weakest part of my application (stats are very average/nothing special).

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Honestly since this is your first post with us, we don't know if/how you were screened out.

Usually we encourage you to write revised essays. With the new chatbots and plagiarism software, you should write original work. Only your IA essay should not need rewriting unless there is something new.