Aug 1, 2009
PR
Status (Visible)
  1. Other Health Professions Student
I need to know what were their experiences when they took the reviews of Kaplan and Princeton Review, which of the 2 is the best? What if it's worth paying between 1500 and 2000 dollars? I graduated about 8 years ago from my BS in Biology. :scared:

drimpossible

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Apr 25, 2008
Brick City
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I took a Kaplan classroom based course. Overall, I thought their practice and review materials were decent. I really liked their enormous amount online library of practice problems, Topic sections, Full Length Exams, etc. I could really focus on improving problem areas this way. Classroom time was fairly inconsequential due to the volume of material covered my the MCAT grossly dwarfs the allotted class time. You're going to have to study on your own no matter how you prep. I did find the MCAT strategy sessions useful, but don't know if I couldn't have figured out a lot of that stuff on my own or read about it in other prep books.

The AAMC FL exams now come free with the PR or Kaplan courses, and are absolutely invaluable. Do them all, under timed conditions, leading up to your test date.

Sep 9, 2010
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I couldn't fit a review course into my work schedule, and I'm actually pretty happy I was forced to study on my own. I'd recommend just getting a some review books, and camping out in a bookstore and spending your money on the AAMC practice exams and coffee. Plenty of online resources to help with any area you are weak in, and the whole reference section is just a walk away. Just comes down to how you study best. I felt better prepared studying on my own. I did use the Kaplan MCAT gigantic all the knowledge on Earth study book as a foundation, and also bought some more practice exams. Best of luck!

About the Ads

badb100d

Jedi Master
10+ Year Member
Oct 23, 2008
City of Dreams
Status (Visible)