"The Gap Years" Dilemma - 2020 Sunset Date for IR Fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thekermakarma

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long time reader, first time poster...I'm currently a radiology resident finishing up R1 year. As most of you know, the current R1's (DR class of 2020) and incoming R1s (DR class of 2021) are the two classes that fall into the "Gap Years" between the phased out IR fellowship (sunset date 2020) and the IR/DR Residency. This means that the IR fellowship will no longer exist for us to apply to, and that we were too early to apply to the IR/DR residency. I am interested in hearing other residents opinions about what their programs are doing to handle this gray zone?

There is an SIR sponsored webinar with their recommendations on how to handle this time period:

But this only highlights three programs opinions, two of which have long-standing, well established IR/DR programs. My program is trying to figure out how best to approach the transition. Any insight is appreciated....

Members don't see this ad.

Try to back fill into your IR/DR program. This is how our institution is doing it.

Long time reader, first time poster...I'm currently a radiology resident finishing up R1 year. As most of you know, the current R1's (DR class of 2020) and incoming R1s (DR class of 2021) are the two classes that fall into the "Gap Years" between the phased out IR fellowship (sunset date 2020) and the IR/DR Residency. This means that the IR fellowship will no longer exist for us to apply to, and that we were too early to apply to the IR/DR residency. I am interested in hearing other residents opinions about what their programs are doing to handle this gray zone?

There is an SIR sponsored webinar with their recommendations on how to handle this time period: