The Importance of AO GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gogoplata

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I searched the threads and saw that some people say that AO GPA is important, and others say that it isn't.

I'm a student at an Ivy and my science GPA is around 3.85 and my cumulative GPA is 3.8. The problem is that my non-science GPA is around 3.5. I'm graduating early (in 3 years), so I only have 2 years of classes before applying. Most of my classes have been BCPM, and I wonder if med schools will see my AO GPA and question why my non-science GPA is so much lower than my cumulative/science one. Thoughts? Comments?

Has anyone been in a similar situation or had experience with this?

Members don't see this ad.

That's pretty interesting. I always thought that BCPM was more important than cumulative.

Members don't see this ad :)
That's pretty interesting. I always thought that BCPM was more important than cumulative.

It's pretty important, because it shows your capacity in sciences. However cgpa being high means your probably good at humanities/social sciences which makes you slightly more interesting then a the reverse who stinks at humanities and good at science.

That's one of the reasons I was worried about my low AO GPA. My cumulative GPA is ok, and it somewhat hides my low AO GPA because it's being pulled up by my BCPM GPA. I saw on the AMCAS application there's a separate slot for AO GPA, which might be a red flag when schools see that the AO GPA is much lower than everything else.

You better just quit now. It's obvious you're not cut out for med school with that 3.8 cumulative.

Seriously? You're fine.

In other news:

Every time I see "AO" I think of video game ratings.
Hmmm. I never did find an "Adults Only" video game.

because even if they were aiming for a top medical school, they would still be fine.