The Journey from FM to EM – The Conclusion (?) to MonkeyMedic’s Story

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monkeymedic

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been posting here for a few years now and some people have asked me for an update. Those interested in my full story can read through previous threads I started. Those who know the story can skip to the ### for the update.

As a recap, I have been seeking advice into getting into EM since my medical school days. My preclinical years were marred with an LOA and a Step 1 failure followed by a passing but mediocre score on the second attempt. Though I rebounded, in M3 and M4 including making Honors in nearly all of my EM rotations (including 3 aways), ultimately I failed to match to EM. My advisor had the foresight to recommend my simultaneous application to critical care heavy, unopposed FM programs and I matched into an unopposed FM program at a level 1 trauma center.

Over the course of my residency, I found a mentor in the Emergency Department and worked my butt off to gain experience. I was advised not to try to leave my FM residency because 1) I didn’t want to lose that spot in an excellent program and 2) the red flags were not for lack of clinical experience, it was for academic difficulties which over time would become less of an issue for PDs. Instead, I hunkered down, and developed a great relationship with the ED attendings during my rotations and even helped out with ED procedures when I was on inpatient call. I took a moonlighting gig as a hospitalist and volunteered to take the ICU shifts (open ICU) to gain more procedure and resuscitation experience. 1500 ED hours, and hundreds of procedures (over 100 intubations and central lines) later, I thought I was as well positioned as possible to make the switch.