THE MCAT

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by Dylan911, Mar 11, 2001.

1. Dylan911

Dylan911 Member
    10+ Year Member

Just wondering if anyone can help me out on this one: I am a sophomore at small liberal arts school, which I transferred to last semester. Way too many of my credits did not transfer along with me, and so I have had to repeat courses. This has taken up many hours I could have spent taking other science courses to better prepare me for the MCAT. So what I am wondering is this, I know most students take the MCAT the end of their sophomore year/beginning of their junior year, but I will definitely not be preapred by that time. Is this extreme detrimental to the application process? And do med schools frown on taking a year off before jumping right in? Because I have an opportunity to shadow a OB-GYN in Honduras for a year, which is the field I think that I would most like to eventually enter. Thanks! :)

------------------
    "Come to Me, all you who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest."

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. gower

gower 1K Member
    10+ Year Member

Your post raises even more questions.

To first answer one of your questions: you can take a year off before applying, especially for the good reason you say.

To comment on a mistaken notion: concentrating on more science for the MCAT is not essential. The content and skills covered by the MCAT are fully described in the MCAT Student Manual available from the AAMC: $20+$6 shipping [in the US] AAMC, Dept 66, Washington, DC 20055
    To the dismay of many applicants, the VR score counts as heavily (or more than) as the science sections.

Next, the MCAT is normally taken during the second half of the junior year or the first half of the senior year.

Now, why did too few credits transfer? Were you in a non-US college or university? Are you a US citizen or permanent resident?