The new MCAT is going to RUIN medicine! (RANT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jumb0

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
:boom:RANT WARNING :boom:

Ok, so I have been studying my ass off for 5 months studying for "THE GREAT EQUALIZER", the MCAT Exam. Being a risk-averse individual, I made the conscious decision to take the current exam instead of the new one they are instating in 2015, because I knew they were making it longer and adding Biochem + Psychology+ Sociology. I knew it would be getting much longer, and I thought this meant that the exam was to become MORE DIFFICULT...I am now learning, however, that the new MCAT2015 will be nothing more than a glorified test of reading comprehension abilities, and the only reason they are making it this long is to mask the fact that it is becoming severely watered down.

As far as I can tell, they are reducing the HARD SCIENCE. Gone are the days when you needed to memorize tons and tons of formulas and MASTER formulaic manipulation and physical intuition. The passages will become longer, and you will most likely be given all that you need right in the passage. You will also be given more time per question by a significant amount. If that wasn't enough, they will be adding a "Pscychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior" section, which promises to amount to nothing more than a glorified verbal reasoning section. You can see where they are going with this. There is a shortage of physicians in America. The AAMC's solution to this is to make the test less quantitatively rigorous and more analytically oriented, so that "soft science" types can do well on it. It will essentially be just about how well you can read, and this really breaks my heart. The AAMC decided that the new breed of doctors don't need to be good scientists; they just need to be generally intelligent. This is why they have watered down the new MCAT.