The old MD vs DO debate revisited

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jonty

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello DO's!

I'm a foreign student interested in this ongoing debate on whether the DO is superior to the MD and vice versa.

Please could you give me your views on this issue.

(I mean, if DO is so much better, why are people still doing MD's at all?)

Let's hear it...

Members don't see this ad.

Do a search on old threads and then form your own opinion :)

I suggest you just do an old search of the forums to appease your sense of interest in this issue. There is really nothing new to add to this superficial argument, and the people who really care about this issue are usually premeds anyway. I think better debate would be regarding whether we should allow foreign students to take up seats in American medical schools when Americans get turned down every year. Perhaps this would be more interesting to you.

Members don't see this ad :)
This DO vs MD thing is really getting old and irritating.

Ditto what the others said

Consider nursing or social work. Much more rewarding for less pay.

Well, from what I have seen, there are a ****load of DOs claiming erroneously that their training is more superior to MDs.

It used to be MDs bashing DOs, but now DOs are just as likely to bash MDs. The mud slinging used to be one way, but now both MDs and DOs are participating with equal vigor.

MD = DO.

MD is NOT better than DO, and DO is NOT better than MD.

Lets just leave it at that.

I wonder how long I have to wait before some idiot comes on here and starts claiming that DO is supposedly superior to MD.

WOW! MacGyver just summed up the whole argument. That is much easier than the search engine anyway. Good Post for an overdone topic I agree.

here is my logical and totally scientific arguement as to why ALL DO's are better than ANY MD's... especially those FMGs...