The role of qualitative research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beginner2011

Beginner's Mind
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'm curious to hear a little about where people feel like qualitative research fits into the field of psychology right now.

As an undergraduate I attended a program that was very qualitative heavy (particularly Phenomenological research), and I felt that the research findings were profoundly meaningful and relevant to clinical work. As a research assistant and coordinator on several R01s after graduation I found that there was very little actual qualitative research being done in this area of the field. I've recently been accepted into a quantitative-heavy program starting in the fall, and have been encouraged to pursue my interest in applying qualitative research to the specialty that drew me to graduate school in the first place.

Where do you all feel that qualitative research plays a role in the field right now? How have you seen qualitative research being employed in effective ways?

Members don't see this ad.

I think this is a great question! I am also a big proponent of qualitative inquiry and find it too often is neglected and marginalized from the "real" research.

Right now, I am part of a new working group on qualitative research at a prestigious hospital. Most recently, we have had seminars/lectures/workshops on conducting and analyzing qualitative research. From what I have heard, there is a big momentum happening especially with the movement towards patient-centered care (this is at least in medicine). Specifically, I have heard NIH grants will soon (if not already) require a qualitative component, and PCORI grants must have a qualitative component as well.