The State of Modern Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Uruka

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've created this thread to gain some insight on the current state of modern psychology. This may be a naive question as psychology is such a broad and complex field, but understand that I am just beginning my studies in the subject. I'm posing this question because I've noticed a disconnect between my perception of psychology and what is presently being taught in the class room.

Before I entered classes I had read material from Jung and Reich. I was captivated by their theories of the mind; Reich's dualistic sexual theory and Jung's theories of the unconscious and dream analysis in particular.

In the class room I was struck by the focus on materialism, the study of neurology. There is no real talk of the mind, just the brain. It's as if the course work is intended to establish a dogma in new students, that the solution to neurosis is the pharmaceutical.

Introductory courses may be very basic, but they make a great impression on fresh minds. Why is there such a focus on the brain and so little on the non-tangible psyche? Has the concept of the unconscious been abandoned to the pill?

Members don't see this ad.