Things that make you stick out as an applicant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctorman45342

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a Freshman in undergrad and I am trying to think of some things I can do to help me stick out when it comes to be application time.

I am shadowing/volunteering right now which is pretty normal. I am just trying to find something that will really set me apart from other applicants. What are some good suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

Getting involved in research can help.

Be dashing and fashionable.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Research.
Take a trip abroad where you actually do some service (most pre-health clubs have these opportunities)
Get a minor or second major in something that makes you seem cool, like computer science.
Learn a foreign language.
Make straight-A's.

You know what the students around you are doing, so do better than them, or just do something productive where they usually say, "oh I didn't have the time."

Being well rounded and not just being an antisocial 4.0 student

Reactions: 1 users
Research for sure. A surprising number of pre-dental students skip research. Most everyone at your interviews will have a good GPA, good DAT, shadowing and volunteer work. Try to participate in some kind biomedical research through your university. A publication will help even more.

A friend of mine, his father was one of the admission officer at a med school. He told me as far as EC, everyone has volunteer hour, what makes you stand out is you go to places that no one even wants to go, places like hospice, that way you learn the bad side of a career. If you mention it in your PS, that will make you stand out.
Or, another friend of mine got into optometry school had more than 8000 hours of shadowing under 7 different optometrist+opthamologist.
Dental school admission is the same.
Just my 2cents.