Thinking about MCAT - non traditional applicant!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MCAT1982

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am newbie to this MCAT discussion forum.

Its been one of my biggest dreams to pursue my career as a Doctor. Due to many reasons (Parents decision and pressure - well thats what happens in Asian countries !! :) ), I went along different routes - Bachelors in Engineering, Masters in Business - and ended up in an excellent job.

I am now 29 years old, and I feel like I need to pursue my dream at least now.

Well, I started thinking about MCAT - but then some suggestions from you guys for some generic questions I have, would definitely help me make a decision:

1. I graduated high school with all the prereq courses in 1999/2000 - so its been around 11 years - Will that affect my admission process ? I mean, Will Med schools check stress on me getting the prereqs done again ?

2. I am thinking of going for MCAT prep courses offered by PR/Kaplan - will that comprehensive course package they are offering (105 hrs by PR and 72 hours class by Kaplan + my own effort) be enough for me to give it a shot with MCAT ?

3. I am 29 years old, and I am targeting for the earliest possible admissions (if everything goes fine) - Am I too old for the same ? :)

Any suggestions would really help. What I need now is some honest opinion and suggestions.

Looking to hear from you all.

Cheers.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi All,

I am newbie to this MCAT discussion forum.

Its been one of my biggest dreams to pursue my career as a Doctor. Due to many reasons (Parents decision and pressure - well thats what happens in Asian countries !! :) ), I went along different routes - Bachelors in Engineering, Masters in Business - and ended up in an excellent job.

I am now 29 years old, and I feel like I need to pursue my dream at least now.