Thinking of a big move

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mokal

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
Im a third year med student in Egypt. I've finished 3rd year now and going onto 4th. Our system here is 6 years.

The first 3 years of medical school cover basic medical sciences (Anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, histology, behavioral science, pharmacology, pathology, microbiology), while the last 3 years are clinical sciences.

Im considering joining med school in the US, no particular state in mind. But to start off, is it possible to join a med school without a previous undergraduate degree? If I do the MCAT and proof of my 3 years in med school is it possible to join med school? I know I'll start from zero, butt I dont mind that. I just want to know if its possible.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

1. Generally, a BA/BS degree is required for admittance, so if you don't earn one from your school after 3-4 years, this will be a problem.

2. To apply, you need to take pre-requisite courses: at a minimum, 1 year Bio, 1 year chem, 1 year O chem, 1 year physics.

3. In addition to good grades, pre-reqs, and good MCAT, US Med Schools require some combination of volunteering, clinical experience, and research.

4. It is more difficult, statistically, for international medical students to get in.

I'm not saying it can't be done, but it will take years longer than simply completing six years at your current institution.

You also need to have a minimum of 90 credits taken at an American institution, whether you already ahve a degree or not.

It seems like it would take you the same amount of time to just qualify for medical school here as it would for you to finish in your home program. You would also have a harder time getting in here as int'l applicants need to have higher numbers to be accepted.

Do you not feel you would have a good chance at getting a US residency as a FMG?