Third year IMG about to start clinicals-any advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Healer777

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am a third year student from a Caribbean school. I went to med school wanting to do psych, and I want to maximize my chances of matching while also being effective.

My school does things a little differently; we have to wait a few months between taking step I and starting clinicals. They will not even schedule us until after we get our scores back, and then it will still be a 1-2 month wait.

I took step in June and scored a 239. I know that that is a decent score, but I also am aware that as an IMG I will be held to a higher standard. I will start my first rotation in New York (internal medicine) in early Sept. I am lucky in that after that, I will have back-to-back core rotations through Aug 2019.So there is a chance that I can match in 2020 as planned initially.

I am a little concerned though, because I will not have a chance to take time off to study for step II. I am very efficient with my studying and I can get a lot done in a short amount of time, but still...with clinicals, I am still not sure if I will have enough time. I am also concerned because I will only really have time to complete one elective before submitting my residency application (if I go for the 2020 match).

I have been thinking about waiting for the 2021 match. I have applied for an online MPH program. I am also interested in research, and I would love the chance to get a publication or two before submitting my residency application (which would be almost impossible if I go for 2020).

I read another thread in this forum, however, where a USMD student was thinking about delaying his match year due to not having step II completed in time, and everyone cautioned him not to.