Quantcast

Third year, just diagnosed with cystic fibrosis

Achieve USMLE Step PREP Success | Picmonic
This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeuroRu

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year student, off cycle, done mediocre throughout medical school but have passed everything. Part of why I haven't done so hot is because I've been progressively more ill throughout. In the middle of third year I was told I needed surgery for what they thought was just chronic sinusitis. So I took some time off and felt maybe marginally better but really not that much better.

As I did more research and looked at my whole clinical picture the pieces of the puzzle started to fit together and I wondered if maybe I had cystic fibrosis. So during surgery rotation I went to a CF clinic and low and behold that is what has been going on. I'm suddenly on a crazy amount of meds- oral ciprofloxacin, nebulized tobramycin, tobramycin rinse, albuterol and pancreatic enzyme replacement. I'll need many more appointments and possibly an admission to work on clearing my airways as much as possible. My surgery rotation has been very understanding and accommodating as I adjust, process, and hopefully start to feel somewhat better soon.