Thoughts about life milestones (house, kids) through the transition from Internship>Post Doc>Career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CatLover&PsychEnthusiast

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am currently a married grad student who is planning on moving for internship next year. I'm a few years older than my cohort and I'm fortunate to have purchased a home (on my own!) when I started grad school. (I took a few years off after undergrad and worked very hard, which allowed me to do so). Anyhow, now I am thinking about the next steps in my life. I recognize that I will be selling my house and returning to the 'apartment life' during internship. However, I would like to settle down in an area and purchase another home during post doc (2 year position), if I am lucky enough to get a position in a location I wish to settle down in. That being said, would it be foolish to buy a home during post doc, not knowing 100% that I would find a job in the same city? When during your journey did you buy your home and set down roots? Relatedly, same question regarding kids. I really want to adopt, most likely from the foster care system. It's a long process. My understanding is that you also can't move around while fostering to adopt (I could be wrong though). Anyone else relate to any of these milestone questions? Wondering how to best balance these life milestones, and also not wanting to put all of this on hold for 3+ years until I finish post doc, is that unrealistic? Thanks in advance for your insights :)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
We waited til after post-doc, but plenty of people do not. Some depends on what you want to do and where you end.