Thoughts and Advice please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DillonW09

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a transfer student and will be attending UC Davis in the fall as a political science major. I have a GPA of a 3.2 and have recently made some lifestyle alterations as well as some serious study habit changes, and have been very pleased with my recent performance in school. I still need to take organic chemistry and physics to fulfill my science prereqs and will do them at Davis.

Do you think with great performance at Davis I can still be competitive when med school comes around? Any advice from people who were in a similar situation? Should I take extra science courses since I'am not a science major?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

So I am a transfer student and will be attending UC Davis in the fall as a political science major. I have a GPA of a 3.2 and have recently made some lifestyle alterations as well as some serious study habit changes, and have been very pleased with my recent performance in school. I still need to take organic chemistry and physics to fulfill my science prereqs and will do them at Davis.

1) Do you think with great performance at Davis I can still be competitive when med school comes around?
2) Should I take extra science courses since I'am not a science major?
1) Yes. With straight As you could end with a 3.6 cGPA. This will be competitive at many MD and all DO schools, depending on MCAT score. It would help a lot if the BCPM GPA is stronger. What is yours now?

2) Many med schools require or recommend upper-level Bio and Biochem, so plan accordingly. Getting great grades in upper-level courses would be particularly important if you had mediocre grades in the prerequisites.

Get straight As in strenuous courses and you'll be fine.