Quantcast

MD three years out of school and working

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sean_T

Reaction score
So, I graduated from a small university with a 2.7 gpa in Chemistry. I had 3 years of undergraduate research which resulted in a publication. I found work in a pharmaceutical company and have worked there for the past 3 years as an scientist. While working, I have obtained 2 patents. It's been awhile and I don't know what my chances are when it comes to med school. I have about 300+ hours of volunteering at the Mayo Clinic. I have yet to take the MCAT. What would I need to do to increase my chances of getting accepted? Would it possible to score high on the MCAT? Should I look into Masters programs? Please help.

confidentandgood

Bunburyin' it.
Reaction score
No shadowing?

Fastest route: do a post-bacc, retake all poor grades (C and below), score well on the MCAT, and apply DO.

gyngyn

Alta California
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
    Reaction score
    A high MCAT will only make the gpa look more disturbing.
    Master's degree's do not remediate a weak undergrad gpa for MD schools.
    Have you calculated your AMCAS and AACOMAS gpas in the calculators in the sticky at the beginning of this forum? https://forums.studentdoctor.net/th...-thread-for-optimal-results-and-more.1170791/
    Knowing exactly how many units you would need to avoid automatic cut-offs is a start.
    Go to the non-trad forum for a community of folks who are working to bring up undergraduate gpa's. https://forums.studentdoctor.net/forums/nontraditional-students.110/

Goro

Lifetime Donor
    10+ Year Member
    Reaction score
    The fastest path for you to become a doctor will be to retake all F/D/C science coursework, do well on MCAT, and apply to DO schools.