Timing for pre-writing Secondaries [AMCAS]

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

costodoro

Reaction score
Hi SDN,

Taking my MCAT June 28th, feeling a bit crunched but determined not to push it back. As a result, it will be pretty tough for me to pre-write secondaries throughout June. I was thinking of pre-writing them throughout the 2 weeks until score release, but others have told me that I'll need at least a month. Any thoughts on when I should start pre-writing, balancing MCAT work with pre-writing, and when I should be submitting secondaries? Was hoping to submit them all by July 21st (a week after score release), but that is starting to look less plausible. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello there!

I'm in a similar predicament as you, but for me, I'm a PhD student (research thesis), so the lab will re-open by the time secondaries are received and due. So, for me, I'm pre-writing all the secondaries that I can theoretically get and then take the time remaining to edit/revise. My only concern is that my brain will tell me to be lazy since I have so much time, so it is key to fight temptation.

For you, it is hard as studying MCAT is a full-time job. How's your endurance in studying? Perhaps study from morning to dinner and then work on your secondaries from dinner to sleep? I don't know how your brain works, but for me, my brain gets into a rut if it is too monotonous. Or study full time on Monday-Friday, write a mock FL on Saturday, chill at night (relaxing to pre-write secondaries) and do a mix-mash on Sunday? Just thinking out loud here.