Timing of Step 2 CK and SF Match Application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bonoz

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have a quick question about the timing of step 2 CK and SFMatch submission.

I am a recent medical graduate taking a research year, I want to bolster my academic credentials by taking and crushing step 2 CK before or around the time of SFMatch opening. I would also think that submitting SFMatch as early as possible (when it opens in June) is also key. I was planning on taking step 2 CK in June.

My question is: should I take the test first and THEN submit my SFMatch application in mid-to-late June (and should I wait until my step 2 scores are released?) or should I give more importance to SFMatch submission in early June and THEN take my step 2 in late June (is it an easy process to update my application with my new step 2 score?)?

I hope my query is clear. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Depends what your Step I is. If it's high, and you want a second high score on your app to reiterate your success .. then Step 2 isn't so important because you already did well the first time around and that's all they truly care about. Also keep in mind the risk of not doing as well on Step 2 as on Step 1, which is why those with a high Step 1 don't take that risk, usually (however, if you crush it once again, it of course only helps ... you need to gauge the risk/benefit for yourself). If your Step 1 is lower and you are seeking a higher Step 2, then you may want to take your Step 2 earlier.

Submitting SFmatch at end of June is still a fine time, really into even middle/late July is still OK.