twentyfour

10+ Year Member
Feb 18, 2005
Status
I'm a third year med student looking to apply to psychiatry residencies and would like to go to competitive ones, like John Hopkins, U of Michigan, etc. Can anyone give me help as to what board scores I should have, if I need to honor any clerkships, research, AOA or what I need to do to be a competitive applicant?

OldPsychDoc

Senior Curmudgeon
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Dec 2, 2004
Left of Center
Status
Attending Physician
twentyfour said:
I'm a third year med student looking to apply to psychiatry residencies and would like to go to competitive ones, like John Hopkins, U of Michigan, etc. Can anyone give me help as to what board scores I should have, if I need to honor any clerkships, research, AOA or what I need to do to be a competitive applicant?
Have somewhat-better-than-average numbers, but most importantly, be a decent human being with a sincere interest in mental illness. This, of course, is best proved by doing well and working hard on your psych clerkships and getting good letters that will attest to that fact.

Honors, research, and AOA are just gravy--unless you are putting yourself forward as a future high-powered academic. Good research experience backing up that kind of claim will let you write your own ticket for the residency of your choice. It's still a buyer's market for US medical school grads choosing psych.

Big Lebowski

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2003
Visit site
Status
twentyfour said:
Generally, psychiatry values quality people over performance on USMLE, AOA, etc. But don't get me wrong, all this helps and any failures will raise a red flag. Doing well particularly in the third year clerkships will benefit you greatly by showing you are able to provide good patient care and are generally well-rounded. For many programs, simply passing Step 1 and 2 is sufficient.

RustNeverSleeps

Walker, Texas Ranger
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 12, 2004
Status
Medical Student