tips on getting max gpa before applying to Pharmacy school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LdotBlake

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Medical Lab Science major, and currently completing my pre-pharmacy pre reqs right now. I'm in my 3rd year so far w/ a not so hot GPA of 2.8. My freshmen year I was going through a lot of problems, and almost built the nerve to dropout. But things changed for the better since then and within the next year or so, I have to take a year long internship for my major to complete my degree and receive my bachelors. I plan on taking the PCAT before the internship, then apply to pharmacy schools before I graduate. I have to take a few more pre req classes (O. Chem, Micro, Biochem, Calc:thumbdown:) but I just wanted any advice on getting through these next couple of years and exceed expectations and get into Pharmacy school after I graduate. My older relative got into pharmacy school w/o a great GPA as well, and is a P3 now but I think his was a little better than mine currently. Also about to get certified asa Pharmacy tech this summer and start working to get more hands on experience since the best way I learn is through observation and studying mannerisms and habits. Any advice will be taken constructively.

Members don't see this ad.

Honestly, with a GPA of 2.8, you need to evaluate your study habits and where you are going wrong and start making A's. As of right now, you are either at or below the cut-off GPA for most schools. The average GPA of people accepted in my state has been around 3.4-3.6 with a cut-off GPA, i.e. thrown in garbage if below and automatic rejection letter, around a B average (3.0).

You're almost there so hang in there. :) But seriously, you should evaluate your study habits now. It will get way harder once you get into pharmacy school so might as well getting every straight now.