• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

Tips to get ready for dental ownership after dental school

Dentalstud1

Jan 8, 2020
  1. Pre-Dental
Hi, I'm a dental student going into 2nd year and I wanted to have the opinion of dental graduate and practicing dentist on how to get ready to doing real life dentistry throughout dental school.
Did you guys attend any dental conferences regularly?
Did you do any externships?
Took hands on CE's on the side?
Listen to dental podcasts?
Read dental management books?

If I'm thinking of buying a practice later on, how did you learn to manage the clinic and to transition between dental school and dental ownership. Ultimately, I want to improve my hands skills and to learn the business side of dentistry as much as possible while being in dental school. Any tip will help!!

MolarPower

2+ Year Member
Oct 10, 2017
  1. Dental Student
Check out SharedPractices Podcast and White Coat Investors. White Coat Investors has a big list of good books about financials tailored to dental professionals listed. I read through some of them and they were good foundational materials for someone like myself who didn't know much. Also dentaltown has a bunch of free CE courses for dental students if you want learn some more.

Reactions: 3 users

Molar Whisperer

Apr 13, 2020
  1. Dentist