SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

TMDSAS requirements vs. AMCAS requirements for TX resident?

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by LittlePaozi, Dec 6, 2017 at 1:02 PM.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. LittlePaozi

LittlePaozi

Aug 24, 2017
    I am a Texas Resident. I currently live in Beaumont but from San Antonio, my husband is a state trooper and we are planning to move back to San Antonio next year June. I plan to go back to CC and finish pre-reqs for med school. I graduate with a masters in science in health and Kinesiology from UTSA in 2 weeks, and my bachelors in science in health in 2011 from UTSA as well.

Even though I have a few pre-med requirements from my bachelors such as bio 1 and lab and chem 1 and lab. I realized that AMCAS is the only site that states that pre-requisites must be within the 5 years of applying for medical school. But TMDSAS doesn’t state any of that. Since by the time I will finish my prereqs will 2019 or 2020 to apply for med school will my prereqs from undergrad 2011. My question is, do I need to still re-do pre-read it if applying to Texas??

I know the best option is re-do it since it will be within the 5 years of applying to out of state schools. But I could save money and time by working on other prereqs instead of redoing them if I can. Just wanted some thoughts or opinions or if anyone had applied over the 5 years?

Any feedback will be appreciated!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. DV-T

DV-T 2+ Year Member

Nov 11, 2015
    The answer depends on several factors:

1) What is your current undergrad cGPA and sGPA?;
    2) Did you get a grade lower than a C in any non-science or science prereq?;
    3) Have you taken the MCAT?, and
    4) Are you considering both MD and DO schools?