to all those that haven't taken 2nd semester physics and took the MCAT....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fun8stuff

*hiding from patients*
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i am debating on whether to take the MCAT in august without the second semester physics.... do you think I should go for it so that I will be able to take it in april again if needed, or should I wait until I have biochem, genetics, and physics 2 under my belt? thanks

Members don't see this ad.

IMHO you would greatly regret to take the MCAT
Without Physics II. Best Wishes.

i took the mcat yesterday w/o 2nd sem phys or ochem. i studied like hell for the past 6 mos w/every type of prep material under the sun. i had tpr, kaplan, aamc, berkely review, examkrackers, nova, even rea. i had like 20 practice tests (of which i took about 5). i even had textbooks that i went over.

here's what i thought:
tpr physics materials ROCK. i learned a great deal from them and they totally simplified the horrendous 2nd sem stuff to the point where i intuitively understood the material. they explained everything from scratch and it was very easy to understand.

another thing: the mcat isn't SUPPOSED to historically rely on 2nd sem stuff, although it's fair game. that is, it's really rare that you would get an entire 3 passages on capacitators, light/optics, magnets, etc. but they would show up on discretes. i got lucky yesterday and had all 3 in passages. :mad: it wasn't pretty. at the same time i don't think i totally bombed the passages b/c a lot of the ?s just ask you pure passage-based stuff, so you have to learn not to get intimidated by the weird formulas you've never seen. w/o the classes, on ALL the pract tests i took (III, IV, VR, VIR) i got above 32s. i thought i was pretty ready for the test....but after yesterday we'll have to see.