moo

1K Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 4, 2000
Visit site
Status
I need your help. For my whole undergrad career I've done well in math and physics and chem, but that was only because they are courses where memorization doesn't really come into play. I am a good problem solver and pretty much relied on my problem solving and reasoning skills to get thru undergrad intact. Now that I am a month away from my first class in med school, I'm having jitters about being able to handle the curriculum, handle memorizing every minute detail, being able to spew out all the information in an essay, etc. Did you guys find any useful techniques out there that really helped? thanks

dr kevin40

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 21, 2002
cali
ghetto you
Status
have some ppl who were bmes and they adjust ok...but this one guy was mechanical e and he just says he had to put in A LOT OF TIME

wfu2005

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 8, 2002
NC
Visit site
Status
I was a ChemE undergrad and BME master's and my advice is to go over it a whole bunch. that's the big secret. just keep going over it. no open book tests here.

p.s. stop worrying, you'll be fine.

Rigomortis

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 23, 2002
Visit site
Status
I was a EE. I didn't suffer at all from being a thinker. In fact, I think I came in with an advantage. Gross and Biochem both have systems involved, which an analytical mind will be good at. The rest you'll have to memorize, but EVERYBODY will need to work on that.

pocwana

MD/MBA candidate c/o 2008
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 11, 2002
L.A.
www-scf.usc.edu
Status
Medical Student
hey moo, thanks for posting this. i, too, am worried about this aspect of medical school. i'm applying now, so i hope next year you'll come back and reveal your 1st year memorization techniques!

beezar

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 31, 2002
Visit site
Status