to Dartmouth (DMS) 2012 students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spinspinspin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know where to post this, but I'm a DMS student and there are a few things I wish someone had told me coming in. DMS doesn't do a very good job of connecting prospective/incoming students with upper classes, so if you are considering or accepting an offer here, feel free to IM me.

1) LIVE IN NORTH PARK. I can't stress this enough. There aren't very many spots at North Park, so you have to sign on really early, but it's ridiculously cheap and nice for it's location, and the students who live there tend to bond in a way that the rest of the class just doesn't. By week 2 my class had divided into "North Parkers" and everyone else. If you can't get a place at North Park, live on campus, and live WITH other medical students (either other 1st years, or 2nd years - not 3rd or 4th years, you'll never see them and they won't be around to help you integrate.)

2) You'll get some form in the mail asking you what kind of experience you want for On Doctoring (shadowing a local doc every other week.) Pick family practice. Even if you know you're going to be a neurosurgeon or a pediatrician, pick family practice. The On Doctoring course is designed around having you in a primary care clinic. You will have assignments to write up things like sexual histories, or to do motivational interviewing on alcohol abuse. If you pick pediatrics or some specialty, you won't be able to complete these assignments. You'll also feel totally lost when you get to the OSCE (end of year evaluation) because you'll have never seen the kind of case you're presented with.