Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

To finish or not to finish M.S.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by S. Ahmed, Jan 5, 2002.

1. S. Ahmed

S. Ahmed Junior Member

Hello dear future docs!

I have asked for advice from several people individually. But I wanted to put this question on this forum to get more response.

I have completed 6 out of 10 required courses to finish my M.S in Elect. Engineering. In 2001, for family reasons, I was unable to take any courses. So, right now, I am real confused.

I am a part-time student.

Honestly, I am very interested to start taking post-bac courses. Here is the scenario:

If I start taking pre-med courses this semester, I might be able to take MCAT in April 2003. That would mean, I can apply for class of 2004.

If, on the other hand, I try to finish up my M.S, I will have to take MCAT in April 2004, and I will apply for class of 2005. One good thing about this plan would be..I can start preparing for MCAT from now on. Gives me more time to read essays, and other things to improve verbal part.

So, I would truly appreciate your kind remarks on this. If you were in my situation, what would you do?

Thank you very much!

S.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. imtiaz

imtiaz i cant translate stupid
    Moderator Emeritus

Attending Physician
    I don't fully understand your situation. You need to take 4 classes. What does this have to do with you taking the MCAT? The MCAT will come and go, it's just 1 day. It doesn't require you to be completely free in order to take it. As far as studying for it, that is something that you will need to work out. Possibly taking the August test if you really need more time. I don't understand why you would need to apply for 2004 if you finish your MS?