Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

to go offshore or not?

Discussion in 'General International Discussion' started by georgia, Apr 27, 2000.

1. Here is my situation:

I graduated UF 1997 with a 3.0 overall gpa and a 2.4 scigpa. Went to chiropractic school in Los Angeles and got a 2.9. Ive had a few blemishes on my undergrad record: D+ physics and an F in organic one, with a few W's on the transcript. In chiro school got 2 F's and 3 D's, though the D's are passing.

I left chiropractic school because of ideological problems i was having. Since the day i got there, i was having second thoughts about being there and what i have found is that when my heart is not totally into something i mess up. That is why i got those bad grades in chiro school and in college.

Im sure there are people out there that think im not smart enough to become a doctor, but i know that this is not true. I did have occasional flashes of brilliance in college, but i did not take my studies seriously at the time. I realize that when i put my mind to something that i do achieve my goals. I have made some terrible mistakes in the past, I have accepted this, and am willing to move forward.

I had some maturity issues in the past, but now realize that everything that i have ever done does affect my future. I want to go to medical school to achieve a lifelong dream and wanted to know of advice or success stories of persons who have gone from being down in the dumps to becoming a medical student.

I feel that i have 2 options: go to the carribean or take post-bacc and do extremely well on the MCAT. I feel that the latter is a gamble because i know of friends with better numbers than i who had trouble getting into medical school--it took some of them 2x going through AMCAS.